PAGE 1

NOM19/012 BUSHFIRE FUEL REDUCTION PROTOCOLS

File Ref:

MOTION

THAT Council write to the Premier, The Honourable Gladys Berejiklian with a copy of the letter to the Member for Bega, and Minister for Transport Andrew Constance, NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons, Minister for Energy and Environment Matthew Kean, the NSW Forest Corporation and Ministers responsible for the Corporation, seeking an urgent review of the current bushfire fuel reduction protocols and planning practices with the view of achieving a more efficient process for Government and private property owners, more frequent and regular hazard reduction burning in the State Forests and National Parks of NSW and a commitment of resources by the NSW Government to ensure that required hazard reduction burns can be undertaken as and when required.

MOTION Councillor McGinlay/Councillor Mayne

THAT Council move into Committee of the Whole.

(The Motion on being put was declared **LOST**)

Division

For the Motion: Clrs A Mayne, P McGinlay and M Nathan.

Against the Motion: Clrs L Brown, P Constable, R Pollock, J Tait and J Thomson.

AMENDMENT Councillor Mayne/Councillor McGinlay

THAT Council write to the Premier, The Honourable Gladys Berejiklian with a copy of the letter to the Member for Bega, and Minister for Transport Andrew Constance, NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons, Minister for Energy and Environment Matthew Kean, the NSW Forest Corporation and Ministers responsible for the Corporation, seeking an urgent review of the current bushfire fuel reduction protocols, fire fighting protocols, community readiness, environmental impact and planning practices with the view of achieving a more efficient process for Government and private property owners, more frequent and regular hazard reduction burning in the State Forests and National Parks of NSW and a commitment of resources by the NSW Government to ensure that required hazard reduction burns can be undertaken as and when required.

(The Motion on being put was declared **LOST**)

Division

For the Motion: Crs A Mayne and P McGinlay.

Against the Motion: Crs L Brown, P Constable, M Nathan, R Pollock, J Tait and J Thomson.

This is Page No 1 of **Error! Bookmark not defined.** of the Minutes of the Ordinary Council Meeting of Eurobodalla Shire Council held on Tuesday 10 December 2019

PAGE 2

19/1 MOTION Councillor Pollock/Councillor Constable

THAT Council write to the Premier, The Honourable Gladys Berejiklian with a copy of the letter to the Member for Bega, and Minister for Transport Andrew Constance, NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons, Minister for Energy and Environment Matthew Kean, the NSW Forest Corporation and Ministers responsible for the Corporation, seeking an urgent review of the current bushfire fuel reduction protocols and planning practices with the view of achieving a more efficient process for Government and private property owners, more frequent and regular hazard reduction treatment in the State Forests, National Parks of NSW and Council controlled reserves for a commitment of resources by the NSW Government to ensure that required hazard reduction treatments can be undertaken as and when required.

(The Motion on being put was declared **CARRIED**)

Division

For the Motion: Crs L Brown, P Constable, P McGinlay, M Nathan, R Pollock, J Tait and J

Thomson.

Against the Motion: Cr A Mayne.