

Minutes

Extraordinary Meeting of Council

17 December 2020

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, MORUYA

ON THURSDAY 17 DECEMBER 2020

MINUTES

1.	WELCON	ME	1
2.	ACKNOV	VLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY	1
3.	APOLOG	SIES	1
4.	DECLAR	ATIONS OF INTEREST OF MATTERS ON THE AGENDA	1
5.	NOTICE	ES OF MOTION	2
NON	120/009	Lease of Batemans Bay Community Centre	2

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, MORUYA ON THURSDAY, 17 DECEMBER 2020 COMMENCING AT 2.00PM

PRESENT: Councillor Rob Pollock OAM, Deputy Mayor (in the Chair)

Councillors Anthony Mayne, Jack Tait, James Thomson, Lindsay Brown,

Maureen Nathan, Patrick McGinlay, Phil Constable and Liz Innes

Staff: Dr Catherine Dale, General Manager

Mr L Usher, Director, Planning and Sustainability Services

Mr W Sharpe OAM, Director, Infrastructure Services

Ms A Jones, Acting Director, Corporate and Commercial Services

Mrs K Arthur, Director, Community, Arts and Recreation

Mr J Phillips, Divisional Manager, Governance and Administration

Mrs K Green, Minute Secretary

1. WELCOME

The Deputy Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Deputy Mayor acknowledged the Traditional Custodians of the Land, of Elders past and present, whose land we are gathered here today.

3. APOLOGIES

Nil

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST OF MATTERS ON THE AGENDA

Nil

^r his is Page No 1 of 3 of the Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting
of Eurobodalla Shire Council held on Thursday 17 December 2020

5. NOTICES OF MOTION

NOM20/009 LEASE OF BATEMANS BAY COMMUNITY CENTRE

File Ref: Land ID: 29439

MOTION Councillor Mayne/Councillor McGinlay

THAT the decision to lease out the Batemans Bay Community Centre (BBCC), as per the CCS20/054 Motion of 8 December 2020, be rescinded and that Council resolves to maintain the BBCC as currently being operated; with a review of those operations and functions being undertaken after the completion of the Batemans Bay Aquatic, Arts and Leisure Centre.

20/245 MOTION Councillor Constable/Councillor McGinlay

THAT Council move into Committee of the Whole to discuss NOM20/009 Lease of Batemans Bay Community Centre.

Division

For the Motion: Clrs P Constable, L Innes, A Mayne, P McGinlay, M Nathan and R Pollock. Against the Motion: Clrs L Brown, J Tait and J Thomson.

At 2.04pm Council moved into Committee of the Whole.

Councillor McGinlay raised a point of order against the ruling of the Chairperson.

The Chairperson rejected the point of order.

MOTION OF DISSENT Councillor Constable

THAT Council move to dissent from a ruling of the Chairperson on the point of order put by Councillor McGinlay.

(The Motion on being put was declared LOST)

Division

For the Motion: Clrs P Constable, A Mayne and P McGinlay.

Against the Motion: Clrs L Brown, L Innes, M Nathan, R Pollock, J Tait and J Thomson.

20/246 MOTION Councillor Thomson/Councillor Innes

THAT Council resume open session.

(The Motion on being put was declared CARRIED)

Division

For the Motion: Clrs L Brown, P Constable, L Innes, P McGinlay, M Nathan, R Pollock, J Tait

and J Thomson.

Against the Motion: Clr A Mayne.

At **2.57pm** the meeting resumed open session.

This is Page No 2 of 3 of the Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting of Eurobodalla Shire Council held on Thursday 17 December 2020

20/247 MOTION Councillor Thomson

THAT the motion be put.

(The Motion on being put was declared CARRIED)

Division

For the Motion: Clrs L Brown, L Innes, M Nathan, R Pollock, J Tait and J Thomson.

Against the Motion: Clrs P Constable, A Mayne and P McGinlay.

MOTION Councillor Mayne/Councillor McGinlay

THAT the decision to lease out the Batemans Bay Community Centre (BBCC), as per the CCS20/054 Motion of 8 December 2020, be rescinded and that Council resolves to maintain the BBCC as currently being operated; with a review of those operations and functions being undertaken after the completion of the Batemans Bay Aquatic, Arts and Leisure Centre.

(The Motion on being put was declared **LOST**)

Division

For the Motion: Clrs P Constable, A Mayne and P McGinlay.

Against the Motion: Clrs L Brown, L Innes, M Nathan, R Pollock, J Tait and J Thomson.

THE MEETING CLOSED AT 3.12 PM

CHAIRPERSON

Chairperson of the Ordinary Council Meeting held on Tuesday, 9 February 2021 at which meeting the signature hereon was subscribed.

This is Page No 3 of 3 of the Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting of Eurobodalla Shire Council held on Thursday 17 December 2020