Website Main content
Website Secondary navigation Latest news

2019 Mayor’s Writing Competition

Friday 26 July 2019

Family and friends filled the chamber as the shire’s most promising young writers were applauded at the 2019 Mayor’s Writing Competition awards.

Eurobodalla Mayor Liz Innes presented each of the finalists with a certificate and an anthology of the students’ stories, before awarding overall winner Rosie McPartland with the Syd Hayes Creative Writing Award - an exquisite handcrafted pen presented in a beautiful case made from Moruya River swamp sheoak, made by craftsman Richard Turley.

The Mayor said the judges had been very impressed with Rosie’s entry, ‘Dandy – The Seeds of Adventure’.

To acknowledge Rosie’s achievement, the Perpetual Shield, donated by the Eurobodalla Fellowship of Australian Writers will be displayed at St Peter’s Anglican College.

Now in its eleventh year, the Mayor’s Writing Competition was initiated by the late Clr Fergus Thomson. In that time students have submitted more than 2,500 entries.


5-6 years: Sophia Pincott, Jordan Hatcher, Liliana Murphy and Poppy Mitchell.

7-9 years: Maison Heane, Adam Wellington, Rosie McPartland and Daisy West.

10-12 years: Matthew Denys, Iona Kelly, Zahlia Kelly and Illia MacLachlan.

13-15 years: Jake Brogan, Leila Patyus, Huon Dufield, Emma Moses and Grace Reid.

16-18 years: Ryan Hall, Hugh Tuckwell, Jye Cook & Ashley MacKinnon.

Winner of the Syd Hayes Award and the Eurobodalla Writers’ Perpetual Shield Trophy: Rosie McPartland for her story called ‘Dandy – The Seeds Adventure’.