Website Main content
Website Secondary navigation Latest news

Council sticks with JO, not LG NSW

Thursday 13 September 2018

Eurobodalla Council will not be renewing its membership of Local Government NSW for 2018-19.

The decision was taken by councillors late last month. Membership fees for the peak industry body stand at around $50,000 per year.

Council resolved the membership money would be better placed with the Canberra Region Joint Organisation, which Mayor Liz Innes says is the way of the future.

“The Canberra Joint Region Organisation has the influence our shire needs. They have opened doors for us to see government ministers and they are a strong, cohesive voice for the south east region.

“In collaboration with eight other south-east councils and the ACT Government, the Joint Organisation looks at issues and projects of mutual interest as well as resource sharing.

“The majority of councillors agreed we have nothing to lose but everything to gain from this decision. Ratepayers’ money will be well spent with the Joint Organisation, whose annual membership fees are lower and we have the flexibility to decide if we want to fund particular projects as they come up.

“I do have some concerns about what I see as the politicisation of Local Government NSW and in my view they haven’t responded adequately to a number of matters we’ve raised with them recently.”

Mayor Innes has written to the LGNSW CEO to advise them of Council’s decision. It is understood another south-east council has also decided not to renew their membership of LG NSW.

Member councils of the Canberra Region Joint Organisation include Eurobodalla, Bega Valley, Hilltops, Upper Lachlan, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Goulburn Mulwaree, Snowy Monaro, Yass Valley, Wingecarribee, and the ACT Government.