Website Main content
Website Secondary navigation About Eurobodalla

Local Aboriginal Land Councils

Section from artwork titled 'Rockpools' by Bronwen Smith

Local Aboriginal Land Councils (LALCs) are autonomous bodies which are governed by Boards elected by local Aboriginal community members every two years.

LALCs were established under the Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1983 as the elected representatives for Aboriginal people in NSW. This role extends beyond representation of the interests of Land Council members, to all Aboriginal people living in NSW.

The network of 120 Local Aboriginal Land Councils (LALCs) is divided into nine regions. The number within each Region varies and ranges from 10 to 21.

LALCs work for their members and the wider Aboriginal community living in their local area. They assist in matters relating to the areas of housing, legal, employment and other day-to-day matters involving Aboriginal people in accordance with functions detailed under the Act.

Local Aboriginal Land CouncilAddress Phone numberFax
Wagonga Local Aboriginal Land Council

16 Canty Street, Narooma, 2546
PO Box 78 Narooma, NSW, 2546

02 4476 1144 02 4476 1483
Cobowra Local Aboriginal Land Council

193 Vulcan Street, Moruya, NSW, 2537

02 4474 4188
Mogo Local Aboriginal Land Council

32 Sydney Street, Mogo, NSW, 2536

02 4474 5229

02 4474 5219
Merrimans Local Aboriginal Land Council

13 Umbarra Road, Wallaga Lake Koori Village, NSW, 2546

02 4473 7288 02 4473 7478
Bodalla Local Aboriginal Land Council

68 Princes Highway, Bodalla, 2545
PO Box 50 Bodalla NSW 2545

02 4473 5404 02 4473 5215
Batemans Bay Local Aboriginal Land Council

3/34D Orient Street, Batemans Bay, 2536
PO Box 542 Batemans Bay NSW 2536

02 4472 7390 02 4472 8622