Climate Change Advisory Committee announced

Published: 16 November 2022

Council welcomed 15 experienced and credentialled representatives to Eurobodalla’s Climate Change Advisory Committee last week.

The committee will meet quarterly with councillor David Grace, deputy mayor Alison Worthington, Council sustainability staff and NSW Government or Australian agency representatives, as required.

Councillor Alison Worthington chaired the first meeting on Thursday 10 November in the absence of Councillor Grace.

She said members of the community were sought to advise and assist Council and the community in delivering actions from the Climate Action Plan 2022-32.

“There were 15 amazing Committee members in group with experience and knowledge ranging from climate policy, social science, international experience with the World Bank and climate finance, CSIRO marine expertise, natural resource & wildlife management, energy efficiency and sustainable design, environmental engineering, public health and local group representatives from Coastwatchers, Landcare, Nature Conservation Council and SouthCoast Heath and Sustainability Alliance (SHASA),” councillor Worthington  said.

The community representatives were Aaron Atteridge, Russell Baker, Steve Coleman, Luke Dalla, Suzanne Harter, Anthony Haymet, Kathryn Maxwell, Julie Taylor Mills, Niall O’Donnell, Julian Poulter, Brett Stevenson, Mark Stubbings, Ian Swain, Andy Telfer and Jo Walker.

“Thanks to these community members for putting their hand up to bring their advice and expertise to the table. They will provide a great linkage between Council and the community,” councillor Worthington said.

At the inaugural meeting the committee got to know one another and focussed on some areas such as transport and electric vehicles, Council’s Waste Strategy and the Biodiversity Strategy.

“These are some very significant pieces of work and the input from the committee will great assist the Eurobodalla in delivering very important actions from the Climate Action Plan,” councillor Worthington said.

Don’t miss out on Council news and events, subscribe to our monthly email newsletter.