Heritage award nominations open

Published: 3 July 2024

Nominations for this year’s $1,500 Fergus Thomson OAM Heritage Award are now open.

Eurobodalla Mayor Mathew Hatcher said the winner could be an individual, group or organisation who makes a significant contribution to the shire’s heritage.

“Whether it’s through promotion, management or conservation, we want to recognise those who are passionate about our shire’s history,” Mayor Hatcher said.

Previous award winners include local military historian Gary Traynor and Kevin Setter who is a local researcher and author.

Fergus Thomson was Eurobodalla’s first popularly elected mayor and remained a councillor until his passing in 2015. Throughout, he was a passionate advocate for the protection of culture and country, with deep ties to the local Aboriginal community.

Mayor Mathew Hatcher said award nominations have dwindled over the past few years.

“We hope to keep this award alive as it recognises Mr Thomson’s legacy while bringing well-deserved recognition to others promoting our shire’s rich history,” Mayor Hatcher said.

Eligible nominees must have completed their project in the last two years. Nominations for the award close at 2pm on Friday 26 July.

For more information on the award and nominations, visit the heritage award webpage or contact Council’s strategic planning team on 4474 1000.

Don’t miss out on Council news and events, subscribe to our monthly email newsletter.