banner image

Types of development

Development includes building, renovating, demolishing, subdividing land or changing the use of a building or land.

New development falls into one of these categories:

Land-use zones and types of development allowed

The Eurobodalla Local Environmental Plan (LEP) outlines the type of development you can carry out in each land-use zone. There are different land-use zones under the LEP. These include residential, commercial and industrial zones.

Find out the zone of your property

Note: As of 1 December 2021, a reference to an Environment Protection Zone E1, E2, E3 or E4 should be taken to be a reference to a Conservation Zone C1, C2, C3 or C4. For further information, please see the Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure's 'Standard Instrument (Local Environmental Plans) Amendment (Land Use Zones) Order 2021'.

Development approval and the application process

If you decide that you need to submit a development application, our flowchart will help you to navigate the application process:

Read about the DA process

Approvals or permits you may need for other activities

Your development may include other activities that need approvals or permits. These works include:

  • water, sewer or stormwater works
  • a septic system
  • solid fuel heater
  • tree removal
  • works within the road reserve such as a driveway crossover.

More information

We can help you

We offer free pre-lodgement services to help you understand the development application process and answer your questions:

For more information, contact our Development Help Desk: