Aboriginal Advisory Committee

The Eurobodalla Aboriginal Advisory Committee (EAAC) aims to promote the importance of Aboriginal culture within Eurobodalla. It advises and makes recommendations to Council on matters that are of importance to the local Aboriginal community.


  • To inform development, implementation and review of Council’s corporate plans.
  • To assist Council with joint projects and information sharing.
  • To advise and liaise with Council regarding issues impacting on local Aboriginal communities.

Terms of reference


The Committee meets four times a year at Council's Customer Service Centre in Moruya.


  • Local Aboriginal Land Council (LALC) nominees, one from each group (6), plus 1 alternate designated representative from each LALC.
  • 1 Gulaga Joint Board Management Chairperson or nominee.
  • 1 Eurobodalla Indigenous Interagency chairperson or nominee
  • Up to 7 community members will be selected by Council that will ensure all sectors and geographic regions of the Aboriginal community are represented.
  • Aboriginal youth representative/s drawn from Eurobodalla Shire Council’s Youth Committee and/or other sources.
  • One Councillor representative, plus one designated alternate (selected by Council).
  • Director – Community, Arts and Recreation Services or nominee/s (non-voting).

Members include local Elders, youth, Local Aboriginal Land Councils, Eurobodalla's Koori Employment Network, the Gulaga Board of Management and individuals belonging to Eurobodalla's Aboriginal community, as well as Councillor Alison Worthington and Councillor David Grace.

Council staff attend but do not have voting rights.

More information

For more information about the Aboriginal Advisory Committee contact Council's Coordinator Community Development and Youth, Rhonnie South: