A dictionary page showing the word Committee and its definition banner image


Utilising committees is one way Council engages local residents in its operations and decision making. There are three types of committees:

  • Council advisory committees, whose membership may include experts, professionals, government employees, community representatives and Council staff, as well as Councillors
  • Community committees, which are delegated by Council to perform certain functions, such as managing a public hall or other property
  • Committees external to Council, which are attended by Councillors and / or Council staff on behalf of the community.

Advisory committees

Council's advisory committees provide advice to Council on a range of issues and offer a valuable opportunity for information exchange with our community. Each committee has at least one councillor as a member as well as a range of other community representatives.

The committees are:


For more information about Council's advisory committees contact our executive services team:

  • T: 4474 1005

Community Facility Management Committees

Community Facility Management Committees oversee the management of four Council facilities:

  • Kyla Park Community Hall
  • Tuross Memorial Gardens
  • Moruya Showgrounds
  • Broulee Tennis Club

Committee members include representatives from user groups, as well as interested volunteers, who work together to ensure efficient and effective operation of the facility.

Community Facility Management Committee utilise the expertise within Eurobodalla, enable a sense of community ownership and involvement and help to meet Council’s objective of a connected community.

Each committee’s role includes tasks such as:

  • Care for and manage the facility
  • Manage finances on Council's behalf
  • Oversee promotion, events and fundraising
  • Represent facility users to Council
  • Provide information concerning the use of the facility and potential future needs
  • Advise and make recommendations on the maintenance and upgrade of the building and equipment
  • Advise and make recommendations on the expenditure of funds
  • Promote good communication between the community, facility users, and Council.

Elections of new committee members, including office bearers, are held at the start of each Council term.

For more information about Council’s Community Facility Management Committees, please contact Tina Smith, Coordinator Recreation Development:

External committees

Councillors attend a range of committees external to Council to share ideas, provide feedback and inform Council decisions. These include:

  • Canberra Region Joint Organisation (CBRJO)
  • Eurobodalla Bushfire Management Committee
  • Eurobodalla Local Traffic Committee
  • Floodplain Management Association of NSW
  • South East Arts (SEA)
  • South East Australian Transport Strategy Inc (SEATS)
  • Batemans Marine Park Advisory Committee (Ministerial appointment)
  • Gulaga National Park Board of Management (Ministerial appointment)
  • Regional Development Australia, Far South Coast (Ministerial appointment)