Local government is an elected system of government directly accountable to the local community. The elected representatives, known as councillors, work together to provide good governance for the benefit of their local community.

Local Government elections in NSW are usually held every 4 years. Due to the 2020 election being postponed by a year, the current Council will remain for a 5-year term and the new Council that is elected at the 2021 election will serve for a 3-year term.

2021 NSW Local Government Elections

The next election for Eurobodalla Shire Council will be held on Saturday 4 December 2021.

Enrolling and voting

Visit the NSW Electoral Commission website to:

Local Government Elections (Caretaker Period provisions)

Leading up to an election, Council will enter a caretaker period.  During this time the Council cannot make any major policy decisions. Applications must be made to the Minister for Local Government for an exemption in extraordinary circumstances should any decision need to be made.

The caretaker period will commence at 12.01am on Friday 5 November 2021 until 6.00pm on Saturday 4 December 2021.

Although the official caretaker period ends at 6.00pm on the day of the Election, Council will not be responsible for making any decision until at least its first official Ordinary Meeting, prior to which all newly or re-elected Councillors will commence a formal induction process.

Previous election results

General election enquiries

For general enquiries concerning enrolment, voting options, and polling place locations, please call the NSW Electoral Commission: